The SIGMOD Awards Committee is now open to receiving nominations for the SIGMOD Innovations Award and SIGMOD Contributions award. In addition, the awards committee welcomes informal advice regarding the Test of Time Award for the paper in the 1993 SIGMOD Conference that has had the most impact since its publication. The nomination deadline is March 24, 2003.

In 1992, ACM SIGMOD started the Annual SIGMOD Innovations Award and SIGMOD Contributions Award as part of its Awards Program. The previous winners of the SIGMOD Innovations Award are: Prof. Michael Stonebraker (1992), Dr. James Gray (1993), Dr. Philip Bernstein (1994), Prof. David DeWitt (1995), Dr. C Mohan (1996), Prof. David Maier (1997), Dr. Serge Abiteboul (1998), Prof. Hector Garcia-Molina (1999), Dr. Rakesh Agrawal (2000), Prof. Rudolf Bayer (2001), Dr. Patricia Selinger (2002), and Dr. Donald Chamberlin (2003). The winners of the SIGMOD Contributions Award are: Dr. Maria Zemankova (1992), Prof. Gio Wiederhold (1993), Prof. Yahiko Kambayashi (1995), Prof. Jeffrey Ullman (1996), Dr. Avi Silberschatz (1997), Dr. Won Kim (1998), Prof. Raghu Ramakrishnan (1999), Dr. Laura Haas and Dr. Michael Carey (2000), Prof. Daniel Rosenkrantz (2001), Prof. Richard Snodgrass (2002), and Dr. Michael Ley (2003).


Name: SIGMOD Innovations Award.
For What: Innovative and highly significant contributions of enduring value to the development, understanding, or use of database systems and databases.

Name: SIGMOD Contributions Award.
For What: Outstanding and sustained services to the database field through education, conference organizations, journals, standards activities, research funding, etc.

Given: Annually (if there is at least one qualified candidate).

Award: A plaque per person plus $1000 per award (the latter to be split among a group, if it is a group award)

Administration: Administered by the SIGMOD Awards Committee.

Nomination/Evaluation Procedures:

Recipient: The recipients will receive the awards at the annual ACM SIGMOD/PODS Conference, at the awards luncheon; each awardee will give a short speech (5-10 minutes).

Eligibility for Nomination:


There is no formal nomination process for this award. However, the SIGMOD Awards Committee is charged with selecting the paper from the SIGMOD Proceedings from 10 years ago (i.e., the 1994 SIGMOD, this year) that has best met the "test of time," that is, it has had the most influence since its publication. We are especially interested in first-hand accounts of ways in which the ideas of a paper have been used in practice. So take a look at the 1994 SIGMOD Proceedings, and if you have any information you believe would be of use to the commitee, then please send the committee a note, as described below.


Nominations should be submitted (preferably via e-mail, else by postal mail) to the chair of the SIGMOD Awards Committee (Moshe Vardi).

SIGMOD Awards Committee:

Moshe Vardi (chair)
Department of Computer Science
Mail Stop 132
Rice University
6100 S. Main Street
Houston, TX 77005-1892
vardi @ cs.rice.edu

Rudolf Bayer
Technische Universität München
bayer @ in.tum.de

Z. Meral Ozsoyoglu
Case Western Reserve University
ozsoy @ eecs.cwru.edu

Pat Selinger
IBM Santa Teresa
pgs @ us.ibm.com

Michael Stonebraker
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
stonebraker @ lcs.mit.edu


M. Tamer Ozsu
University of Waterloo
Waterloo, Ontario
Canada N2L 3G1
ozsu @ acm.org