NSF Workshop on Preservation

Su-Shing Chen <schen@risc1.ecn.missouri.edu> and Gio Wiederhold < gio@cs.stanford.edu>
are engaged in setting up a Workshop for NSF on long-term Data Preservation and Information Archiving, to be held in Washington DC, 26-27 march 1999.



March 26 (Friday)

8:00 - 9:00 am Continental Breakfast & Checking In
9:00 - 10:00 am Openning Talks (Michael Lesk, Ruzena Bajczy)
10:00 - 10:30 am Coffee
10:30 - 11:30 am Talks
11:30 - 12 noon Charge to the Working Groups I-V (Organizing Committee)
12:00 - 1:30 pm Lunch
1:30 - 3:30 pm WG I, II, III
3:30 - 4:00 pm Coffee
4:00 - 5:00 pm Talks
6:00 - 7:00 pm Reception
7:00 - 9:00 pm Dinner

March 27 (Saturday)

8:00 - 9:00 am Continental Breakfast
9:00 - 10:00 am Report of Working Groups I, II, III
10:00 - 10:30 am Coffee
10:30 - 12:30 pm WG I, IV, V
12:30 - 2:00 pm Lunch
2:00 - 3:00 pm Report of Working Groups I, IV, V
3:00 - 4:00 pm Summary of Working Groups
4:00 - 4:30 pm Coffee
4:30 - 5:30 pm Summary of Working Groups & Executive Summary
5:30 pm Adjourn

March 28 (Sunday)

9:00 - 12:00 noon Executive Summary (Su-Shing Chen, Gio Wiederhold & Volunteers)

Working Groups

(Each WG has one facilitator and one writer)

This workshop will address the important problem of data archiving and information preservation. Various aspects should converge to a visionary report providing research directions for archivists, system developers, owning organizations, and technologists.

WG1 Information Preservation and its Requirements

WG1 will address the general requirements of information preservation in the information age. Transcending the traditional archival viewpoint of journals, magazines, historical/legacy records, scientific data, and many others, how can we provide some visionary ideas on preserving information in general including web content, email, and exponentially growing electronic records? Because of its importance, WG1 will take place on both days.

WG2 Information Media and Storage Media

WG2 will discuss the standards and adaptation to changing standards of both information media and storage media. Information media are multimedia, including text, images, voice, video, and their inter-linkages. Storage media include paper, and various optical and electrical media. Reviewing various standards, how can we assess the potential standards for long-term storage and preservation of digital objects, such as the Universal Preservation Format (UPF) project, and the Bundles for the Perpetual Preservation of Electronic Documents and Associated Objects?

WG3 System & Technology

WG3 will be concerned with how technology will impact the system design for data archival and information preservation? For example, we have issues: central versus distributed system, multi-level control, scalability, reliability, redundancy, access linkages, and enforcement techniques of standards.

WG4 Workflow, Information Preservation and Data Archiving

Continuously, documents and records are created by workflow processes in organizations. Starting from creation, how can we integrate the workflow process with the preservation process: appraisal, verification, maintenance, and eventually retirement?

WG5 Policy & Usability

This workshop can only offer ideas from the scientific and technological perspective. Legal and policy issues will require a long decision process involving a much wider community. Issues to be discussed at the workshop may include governmental versus professional responsibility, cost of alternative models, interfaces for professionals and the public, copyright restrictions for archives, privacy vs. public accessibility.


Su-Shing Chen <schen@cecs.missouri.edu> Convener
William Y. Arms <warms@cnri.reston.va.us>
Ruzena Bajcsy <RBajcsy@nsf.gov>
Marjorie Blumenthal @lt;mblument@nas.edu>
Christine Borgman <cborgman@ucla.edu>
Joseph A. Busch <jbusch@datafusion.net>
Robert Chadduck <Robert.Chadduck@arch2.nara.gov>
Mark Conrad <mark.conrad@arch1.nara.gov>
S. Doty <sdoty@ncdc.noaa.gov>
Lynnette Eaton <eatonf@osia.si.edu>
Jim French <french@cs.virginia.edu>
Hector Garcia-Molina <hector@cs.stanford.edu>
Joan Gargano <Joan.Gargano@ucop.edu<
Anne Gilliland-Swetland <swetland@ucla.edu>
David L. Green <david@ninch.org>
Milton Halem <Milton.Halem.1@gsfc.nasa.gov>
P C Hariharan <chm_zpch@jhunix.hcf.jhu.edu>
Margaret Hedstrom <hedstrom@umich.edu>
Michael Lesk <lesk@brooklyn.iris.cise-nsf.gov>
Clifford Lynch <cliff@cni.org>
Reagan Moore <moore@SDSC.edu>
Brewster Kahle <brewster@alexa.com>
Avra Michelson <avram@erols.com>
Fred Mintzer <mintzer@watson.ibm.com>
Jeff Rothenberg <jeff@rand.org>
Thomas Mark Sheppard <thom_shepard@wgbh.org>
Ken Thibodeau <ken.thibodeau@arch2.nara.gov>
Ken Tombs <knt@kent.demon.co.uk>
Donald J. Waters <donald.waters@yale.edu>
Gio Wiederhold <gio@db.stanford.edu>
Polle Zellweger <pollez@parc.xerox.com>

Su-Shing Chen
Chair & Professor of Computer Engineering & Science
James C. Dowell Research Professor
University of Missouri-Columbia
201 EBW
Columbia, MO 65211-2060, USA
Email: schen@risc1.ecn.missouri.edu
Tel: 573-882-3843
Fax: 573-882-8318

Back to main Workshop webpage
Back to Gio Wiederhold's LIC webpage